From frequent Local Newsie Mike Stevens comes a full accounting of scores and this great wrap up about the United States Professional Hickory Golf Championship played during the 2016 Hickory Heritage Weekend at the Temple Terrace Golf and Country Club. 

And what a terrific weekend it was. One of hickory golf’s most anticipated stops, it always kicks off the season right. Read all about it!

World Hickory Open Champion Sets Record

in Winning the United States Professional Hickory Golf Championship

Andrew Marshall accepts the USPHG Championship Trophy
Ki Shui Liao accepts the USPHG Women’s Championship Trophy
Will Peterson accepts the Top Amateur Oscar Bunn Trophy

February 22, 2016: England’s Andrew Marshall, the reigning World Hickory Open champion had too much game for the professionals vying for the John Shippen Trophy at the United States Professional Hickory Golf Championship played over the historic Temple Terrace Golf & Country Club. His three under par 70 was but one shot higher than the score posted by John McLeod in the 1925 Florida Open played at this same venue.

The Tom Bendelow links at 6,400 yards was described by the Tampa Tribune as a long and difficult layout when it was opened in 1922. In the hickory golf era that was certainly true as most courses of the time were up to four or five hundred yards shorter. Today’s irrigated fairways also stretch the length even further. It did not seem to effect Andrew however who at one point was 5 under the magic number before finding a bad lie in the bunker at number 17. In addition to the $1,500 first prize Marshal’s name will be affixed to the John Shippen Cup for whom the tournament is dedicated. Shippen was America’s first golf professional and played in the U. S. Open at Shinnecock Hills on Long Island.

The USPHGC is sponsored by the United States Golf Teachers Federation and open to all golf professionals, male and female. Players compete for the same $5,000 prize fund associated with the original Florida Open won by Leo Diegel. The winner’s name is engraved on the John Shippen Cup, dedicated to America’s first golf professional which is on permanent display in the Temple Terrace clubhouse. The golf course is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and one of only three in the state.

Ki Shui Liao from Orlando, FL set the ladies scoring record, recording a 79 to take the honors in the lady’s division while outscoring several of the men competitors.

Last year, Director Mike Stevens announced that to commemorate the fact that the first U.S Open and U.S. Amateur were originally played in the same week on the same venue the United States Amateur Hickory Golf Championship was added to the day’s event. Will Peterson of Orlando playing from the pro tees, his second U.S. Amateur Hickory Championship and was awarded the Oscar Bunn Trophy to commemorate the Shinnecock Indian who played in the 1896 U.S. Open along with John Shippen. There was also a Heritage Division for Amateurs using handicaps and the winner was Bob Chew from Weeki Wachee, Florida.


United States Professional Hickory Golf Championship 2016 Results

(Full Leaderboard)

Andrew Marshall 70 1500
Eddie Peckels 78 537
Paolo Quirici 78 537
Richard Bullock 78 537
Adam Varney 78 537
Dylan Malafronte 79 110
John Hayes 79 110
Tom McCrary 79 110
Ki Shui Liao 79 110
Bo Turocy 80 17
Clay Thomas 80 17
Greg Jarmas 80 17
Jeff Leonard 82
Mike Stevens 83
Rich Lively 87
Keith Wightman 88
Gregor Jamieson 93
Alice Brown 98
Earl Hines 102

United States Amateur Hickory Golf Championship 2016 Results

(Full Leaderboard)

Will Peterson 75
Bill Geisler 78
Cliff Martin 79
Ricky Sires 80
Rick Woeckner 82
Francis Flood 84
Bryan Bruce 86
Dan Capaz 86
Hugh Cameron 86
Mike Henderson 86
Mark Hollingsworth 88
Claus Muhlfeit 89
Bob Chew 91
Boris Lietzow 91
Brian Schuman 91
Scott Bowles 92
Geoff Bleasby 93
Tad Moore 96
Jim Wilhelm 97
Mike Hobson 100
Steve Haigler 102
Bob Boss 111 Hickory Golf Hub covers as many wood shafted golf events as we can shake a stick at.